Official name:

Republic of Poland (short form: Poland), Rzeczpospolita Polska (short form in Polish: Polska)

Official Language:


The Polish language is the official language of Poland. The Polish language belongs to the family group of the West Slavic languages.

It is estimated that Polish is the mother tongue for approximately 45 million people in the world. It is one of the official languages of the European Union.


Central Europe. Poland borders Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania and Russia (the Kaliningrad exclave). Its northern border (440 km long) runs along the Baltic Sea coast.

Capital city:

Warszawa (Warsaw: population 1.7 million / Warsaw agglomeration: 2.5 million)


38,4 million. Poland has the seventh largest population in Europe (omitting Russia), and the sixth largest in the European Union.

Time zone:

Poland belongs to the Central European time zone (GMT + 1 hour / UTC + 1 hour)


The Polish climate is moderate continental, with relatively cold winters (from December to March) and hot summers which extend from June to August. June temperatures average in Szczecin 13°C (55,4°F) to 20°C (68°F).


1 złoty (PLN) = 100 groszy (current exchange rates:

[1 EUR = approx. 4 PLN, 1 PLN = approx. 0,25 EUR; 1 USD = approx. 3,4 PLN, 1 PLN = approx. 0,29 USD]

Calling code:


Internet domain:


International organisations:

Poland is a member of the European Union (EU),
North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO),
United Nations (UN),
International Monetary Fund (IMF),
International Maritime Organization (IMO),
United Nations Educational,
Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO),
United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF),
World Health Organisation (WHO),
World Trade Organisation (WTO),
Organisation for Cooperation and Development (OECD),
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE),
Council of Europe and many others.
Poland is also part of the Visegrad Group and the Schengen Area.